Museum Tour

Adult 3 180 CFP

Child (under 12 years) 2 120 CFP

BOOKING FORM

Approximate duration of the excursion: 2 hours departing from the Main Cruise Terminal.
HOP ON HOP OFF INCLUDED

This cultural tour is open every day except Mondays and public holidays.

Departure from the Cruise Wharf at 10.15am and 1.15pm.

Number of places limited to maximum 15

Discover with your guide the history of New Caledonia through:

1°) THE MARITIME MUSEUM :

Welcome aboard the Musée Maritime / Martime Museum located near the city centre of Nouméa, at the start of the road to Nouville.

Entirely renovated and enlarged in 2013, the Museum invites you through its new exhibitions and the richness of its collections, to explore the maritime history of New Caledonia and to discover the extraordinary journey of French explorer, La Pérouse, You can discover a collection of nearly 2,000 archaeological objects from the wrecks found in New Caledonia and the site of the sinking of La Pérouse’s vessel.

Temporary exhibition spaces allow the visitor to deepen or discover various different topics throughout the year relating to diverse themes connected to the maritime environment.

Play areas are also available for “young explorers” and their families to discover the museum and to learn maritime history while having fun.

2°) THE SECOND WORLD WAR MUSEUM :

Your museums visit will then lead you to the discovery of the period of the 2nd World War.
Discover the stories behind the presence of the US Army GI’s in New Caledonia, and the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps, also. You will see many objects including tanks, jeeps, medals, uniforms and much more.

The years between 1942 -1946 remains a very eventful time in the collective memory of many Caledonians and today is proudly remembered in the exhibitions of this museum

The epic stories of the volunteers during the American and the ANZAC troops presence are deeply rooted in the history of New Caledonia. This period generated major upheavals both in the daily life and in the mentalities of the Caledonians.

While for the majority of countries the Second World War is synonymous with horrors and destruction, it had a very different meaning in New Caledonia. American, Australian and New Zealand soldiers and also the complete Pacific Battalion, were based in Nouméa and which hired more than 800 volunteers over that period.
This is why this new museum aims to convey the memory and events of this era as an important part of local history.

The museum reflects this paradoxical vision of a war that was rather “positive” for the “Caillou” (French nick-name for New Caledonia meaning “the rock”) despite the difficulties and traumas suffered by the population. This new museum is housed in Avenue Paul-Daumer, in a renovated original corrugated iron building called “half-moon” which was built in 1943 by the American army and used as a warehouse for their equipment.

 

  • Terms of cancelation :
    30 days before : 100%
    7 days before : 50%

    Ability to transfer the ticket to the person of your choice

Museum Tour

Promotion 10 % Hors options

Adulte 2 8623 180 CFP

Enfant (- 12 ans) 1 9082 120 CFP

Résérvation

Durée approximative de l’excursion : 2H00 au départ de la Gare Maritime de Nouméa
HOP ON HOP OFF OFFERT

Ce Tour culturel est ouvert tous les jours sauf le lundi et les jours fériés.

Départ de la gare maritime à 10h15 et 13h15.

Nombre de places limitées à 18 personnes maximum avec un minimum de 5 personnes.

Découvrez avec votre guide l’histoire de la Nouvelle Calédonie à travers :

1°) LE MUSEE MARITIME :

Bienvenue à bord du Musée Maritime situé près du centre-ville de Nouméa, à l’entrée de la route de Nouville.

Entièrement rénové et agrandi en 2013, le Musée vous invite par le biais de sa nouvelle muséographie et de la richesse de ses collections, à explorer l’histoire maritime de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et découvrir l’extraordinaire voyage de La Pérouse avec à l’appui d’une collection de près de 2.000 objets archéologiques provenant des épaves de Nouvelle-Calédonie et du site du naufrage de La Pérouse.

Des espaces d’exposition temporaire permettent d’approfondir ou d’aborder tout au long de l’année des thématiques diversifiées liées au milieu maritime.
Des espaces jeux sont également mis à disposition des « petits moussaillons » et de leur famille pour découvrir le musée et s’initier à l’histoire maritime tout en s’amusant.

2°) LE MUSEE DE LA SECONDE GUERRE MONDIALE :

Votre visite vous amènera ensuite à la découverte de toute la période de la 2ème guerre Mondiale : les tanks, les Jeeps, Médailles, Uniformes, avec la présence des Gi de l’Us Army, également celle de l’armée Australienne et Néo-Zélandaise de 1942 -1946 rappellent à la mémoire collective une époque très mouvementée mais que l’on expose aujourd’hui avec fierté….

L’épopée des engagés volontaires, la présence américaine et celle des troupes de l’ANZAC sont profondément ancrées dans la mémoire collective de la Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette période a généré d’importants bouleversements tant dans la vie quotidienne que dans les mentalités des Calédoniens.

Si pour la majorité des pays, la Seconde Guerre mondiale est synonyme d’horreurs et de destructions, celle-ci revêt une signification très différente pour la Nouvelle Calédonie. Des soldats Américains, Australien et Néo-Zélandais et aussi le Bataillon du Pacifique qui, engagea plus de 800 volontaires, ont transité en Nouvelle Calédonie.

C’est pourquoi, ce nouveau lieu ambitionne de transmettre la mémoire d’une époque et un pan de l’histoire locale.

Le musée reflète cette vision paradoxale, d’une guerre qui fut plutôt « positive » pour le Caillou malgré les difficultés et traumatismes subis par la population. Ce nouveau musée est installé dans une demi-lune rénovée, située avenue Paul-Doumer, au centre-ville, construite en 1943 par l’armée américaine qui l’utilisait pour stocker son matériel.

  • Conditions d’annulation :
    30 jours avant le début de la prestation : 100%
    7 jours avant la prestation : 50%
    Possibilité de transférer le ticket à la personne de votre choix